Select Edition

Northern Northern
Southern Southern
Global Global

Latest Feature

Mike Blair: 'I took a lot on my shoulders at Edinburgh but I don't regret it'

The former Edinburgh coach on why he had to step down, and his new life in Japan.

All 18 teams qualified for WXV- here’s how they did it

By Imogen Ainsworth

All 18 places have now been taken in WXV 1, 2, and 3. Here’s how each of the teams qualified for the new competition which begins in October.



New Zealand will host England, France, Wales, Canada, and Australia in the top tier of WXV, starting on 21st October.


A successful Six Nations grand slam campaign for England saw them qualify as the highest-ranked team in the European competition following their win against France on a historic day at Twickenham.


Second in the Six Nations following a well-fought Grand Slam decider at Twickenham where they suffered a narrow 38-33 defeat, France qualified for WXV 1 after some impressive performances along the way.


Wales took the hotly-contested third place in the Six Nations to secure the final WXV place on offer from the competition. Wins against Ireland, and Scotland combined with a final-day victory over Italy secured their place in the top flight of WXV.

New Zealand

WXV 1 hosts New Zealand confirmed their place through their top-place finish at the recent Pacific Four Series. Playing in front of record-breaking crowds, the Black Ferns won all three of their matches in emphatic fashion.


A second-place finish at the Pacific Four Series was sealed with a 45-7 win against Australia on the final day and earned them a place in WXV 1.



The Wallaroos’ third place at the Pacific Four Series earned them a place in WXV 1. The key match which secured their qualification was a 58-17 win over the USA.



Scotland, Japan, the USA, Samoa, and Italy will be hosted by South Africa in WXV 2 from 14th October.


Wales’ win over Italy on the final day of the Six Nations to take the third WXV1 place up for grabs gave Scotland automatic qualification for WXV 2 as their fourth place was determined before their final game against Ireland.



Japan secured their place in WXV 2 by beating Kazakhstan in the final of the Asia Rugby Women’s Championship.

South Africa

Rugby Africa Women’s Cup 2023 winners South Africa earned their qualification for WXV 2 by beating Madagascar 79-8 in the final.


The USA Eagles were added to WXV  2 at the end of the Pacific Four Series, where they finished fourth after failing to win any of their matches. Their closest result came against New Zealand when they suffered a 39-17 loss.


Samoa’s nail-biting 19-18 victory over Fiji in the Oceania Rugby Women’s Championship final gave them the one WXV 2 place up for grabs in the competition.


After winning a two-leg WXV 2 playoff with Spain, Italy were given the final space in the second-tier competition.



Dubai will host Ireland, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Fiji, Colombia and Spain from the 14th of October.


Due to Ireland’s sixth-place finish at the Six Nations, they were the first team to qualify for WXV after failing to win any of their matches.


As losers of the playoff with Italy, Spain took the remaining place in WXV 3.


After finishing second to Samoa at the Oceania Rugby Women’s Championship, Fiji will compete in WXV 3.


Kenya secured their place in WXV 3 with a 52-3 win over Cameroon in the Rugby Africa Women’s Cup which saw them finish second overall.


In a two-leg series, Colombia won both games against Brazil to join WXV 3. Their first game was a narrow 24-23 win, but their second with a 30-19 scoreline was the key to their qualification.


Kazakhstan qualified for the Asia Rugby Women’s Championship final with a win against Hong Kong. They were then awarded a place in WVX 3 following their loss against Japan in the final which meant they finished second.


Join free and tell us what you really think!

Sign up for free
TRENDING Jack Nowell: 'I never thought I was going to be in the position' Exclusive interview: England and Exeter's Jack Nowell